Holiday Spiked Coffee


Since I blog about food, I tend to check out other food blogs too.  Smart, right?  Check out the competition.  Just kidding.  It’s more like learn from people that are better at cooking, or photography, or both and get some good recipe ideas along the way.  As the holidays approach, I’ve noticed more and more posts about homemade Bailey’s Irish Cream.  While I do want to try one of the many variations I’ve seen (preferably one without raw eggs), I found myself wondering what people are going to do with the vast quantities of irish cream they made.  It doesn’t keep long and there’s no point in making a small batch if it takes some time.  I decided to help out.

I created this coffee treat to use up some of the holiday liquors and alcohols that are common.   How many of us have a bottle of Kahlua or Amaretto and no idea what to do with it?  I have the solution!

 

Recipe:

Ingredients:

1 cup hot coffee

1 shot Kahlua for a mocha coffee OR

1 shot Amaretto for a hazelnut coffee

1 shot whiskey for a stronger drink

1 shot Bailey’s Irish Cream (or homemade Irish cream)

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cooking Instructions:

Combine all the ingredients into a heat safe mug.  Stir to combine. Drink and enjoy as a guilty pleasure!

About Holly

I just graduated from the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma, WA. Being the indecisive person I am, I decided to take a year off before going to graduate school (there are too many things I want to study). Now I'm in Phoenix taking school pictures and trying my hand at cooking. So far, it's pretty tasty.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Alcohol, Drinks, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

