Cauliflower with Tahini


This sounds weird, I know.  I first saw this combination on a menu at Pita Jungle.  This place is awesome.  All the food is delicious and healthy.  If you have one in your area, you should check them out.  So when I first went there, I thought I’d try something new, “Caramelized Cauliflower with Tahini.”  It was amazing.  I’d go there just to get some of this.

Then I tried it at home.  The first time, I accidentally fried the tahini.  Whoops.  Don’t do that.  The second time I realized how easy it was to make on my own.  I still get it all the time at Pita Jungle because it’s still slightly better there, but I make it for myself a lot too.

This recipe only requires 4 ingredients.  One of which is tahini.  Tahini is sesame seed paste.  It’s quite tasty and is a key ingredient in hummus.  You can find it at Trader Joe’s next to the hummus in the refrigerated section.  You won’t use all of the tahini you buy in this recipe so you could use some to make hummus.  This recipe is delicious as a snack and will make you love cauliflower.

Recipe:

Printable Version

Ingredients:

1/2 head of cauliflower, cut into bite sized florets

2 tbsp tahini sauce (found at Trader Joe’s)

1 tbsp pine nuts

2 tbsp olive oil

Prep time: 15 minutes

Serving size: 1 snack sized portion

Cooking Instructions:

Add the olive oil to a medium sized skillet.  Heat to medium heat.  Once hot (water sizzles when you drip a little on the pan), add the cauliflower.  Saute until soft.  To speed this up, you could cover the pan and stir occasionally. Add the pine nuts and cook for 1 minute longer.  Remove from heat and pour into a serving bowl.  Add the tahini sauce and mix together.  Serve immediately.  Enjoy and don’t forget to go for second helpings!

About Holly

I just graduated from the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma, WA. Being the indecisive person I am, I decided to take a year off before going to graduate school (there are too many things I want to study). Now I'm in Phoenix taking school pictures and trying my hand at cooking. So far, it's pretty tasty.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Recipe, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I make something similar that is from an old Vegetarian Times. Tahini and cauliflower go so well together.

    • I agree. I never would have come up with this on my own though. Also, I didn’t know there was a Vegetarian Times. That sounds like a great magazine! Maybe I’ll look into it. Thanks.

  2. Cauliflower with tahini is yummy! A Middle Eastern restaurant here makes an oven roasted version. They drizzle the cauliflower with tahini, lemon juice, garlic and salt and roast at 450-500 degrees for about 20 minutes. Mmmmm! And yeah, it’s not something I would ever have tried (or dreamed of 😀 ) but they had it on the buffet one day and I just happened to taste it.

  3. Wow, that looks amazing! And so simple! Thanks for posting the caloric and nutritional stats, too. Very helpful!

  4. i don’t think this is a weird combination at all! i love both cauliflower and tahini, and this dish sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

