Skittles Vodka Party Favors


Isn’t that just what you always want to see when you come to a blog?  Rainbow alcohol.  Absolutely (pun intended)!

With New Year’s Eve coming up, everyone is looking for ideas for their party.  One party I had in college was a “Taste the Rainbow” party.  We infused vodka with each flavor of skittles and had everyone dress up in skittles colors.  Everyone looked funny in their rainbow outfits and had a great time.  The skittles vodka was a hit too.  When I was thinking of things that would make party favors I thought of mini bottles of alcohol.  That seemed boring so then my boyfriend thought of mini bottles of skittles vodka!  Brilliant!

Skittles vodka tastes fruity and delicious, but it’s very strong so be careful.  You can mix this alcohol with fruity juices, sprite, or even ginger ale.  It also tastes good just by itself.  Have fun with this, but remember to be responsible too.  Happy New Year’s everyone!

UPDATE THAT WILL ROCK YOUR WORLD:  Mix the orange skittles vodka with cranberry juice.   It’s magical.  And when you’re done with that, mix the yellow skittles vodka with lime margarita mix.  Delicious.  Ok, continue with the normal post.

Also, I always wondered what the bottles of Absolut say on them.  They have a novel written write on the label.  In case you were curious too, the bottles read, “This superb vodka was distilled from grain grown in the rich fields of southern Sweden. It has been produced at the famous old distilleries near Ahus in accordance with more than 400 years of Swedish tradition.  Vodka has been sold under the name Absolut since 1879.”  History of Absolut on the label.  There you go.

Recipe:

Printable Version

Ingredients and Equipment:

1 lb bag of skittles

30 mini bottles of vodka

Coffee Filters

5 empty containers with lids (water bottles, tupperware, I used cups with plastic wrap on top)

Funnel (or crazy good pouring skills)

Prep time: 45 minutes

Inactive time:  1 day

Cooking Instructions:

Separate all the skittles by color. Pour 6 of the mini bottles of vodka into one of the empty containers.  Save the mini bottles  Add 120-150 red skittles.  Repeat this with all the colors.  You should have 5 containers with skittles of different colors in vodka at the end.  Stir each container.  Cover each container and set aside for at least 24 hours or until the skittles are dissolved.  Shaking or stirring occasionally helps.

Once dissolved, get out about 4 coffee filters and pour a portion of one color through the filters into an empty cup.  Once the flow rate slows down, squeeze the liquid through like how your supposed to squeeze a toothpaste bottle (back to tip).  If there is still white gelatin floating, filter again. Continue this until there is minimal gelatin floating in the vodka.  If your friends are like mine, they won’t care about a little bit left.  I found that the white gelatin stands out most in the green and purple so I filter these twice.  Repeat this until you have filtered all of one color.  Use the funnel or your pouring skills to pour the vodka back into the mini bottles.  Repeat this for each color.  Depending on how many filters you used and how many times you filtered, you may not end up with as many mini bottles full as you started.  You can fill the mini bottles that are only part full using more vodka if you want or just have extra mini bottles for other uses.  You should end up with about 5 or 6 bottles of each color.  Use as party favors for New Year’s or any other adult party.  Enjoy!

About Holly

Hello! I’m Holly, a PhD candidate in Biostatistics at the University of Michigan.

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Alcohol, Drinks, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. This is such a great idea. I’m definitely gonna try it!

  2. My friend has been bugging me for awhile now, to make him Skittles vodka, and I never thought to of making it in the little nip-sized bottles. What a great idea!

  3. So cool – I love it! Going to try it for New Years!

  4. Can you do it with things other than vodka? Like rum or white tequila!?

    • I never have, but I don’t see why not. Vodka usually doesn’t add much of it’s own taste to it so you really only taste the skittles. If you try it with other alcohol, let me know how it goes. I’d be interested to hear.

  5. Can I please steal? I just made berry infused vodka last week and I’ve been hearing a lot about skittles vodka. I am so going to try this with the 200ml bottles though. Yours is just beautiful!!!!!

  6. oh wow i love this! such a cute idea!

  7. I have made Jolly Rancher vodka, quite a bit easier since there is no filtering involved. But WAY better color from the skittles!! I love the mini bottle idea too!

    • I thought about doing Starburst vodka, but I didn’t want to risk it coming out gross. The filtering is really lame, so I think I’ll try Jolly Ranchers next time. Great idea! Thanks for posting.

  1. Pingback: Ciabatta « Holly's Helpings

  2. Pingback: top 100 blog | Lesvosnews.net

Leave a comment